Hitched: My Maid Of Honor Hates Weddings

For this week’s Hitched column, I tackle lady relationships and wedding culture by addressing the fact that my maid of honor hates weddings. And yet, there she is at my side, shopping for wedding gear and reading a poem during the ceremony.

Susan’s been to four weddings in her life and she’s been in two of them. Neither were especially positive experiences — we’re talking bridal freak-outs, awkward confrontations, ugly dresses and everything every bride thinks her wedding is totally not going to be but sometimes is.

I wanted to have a sweet, fun, low-pressure wedding for my sake, and for Patrick’s sake, but also for Susan’s sake. And I was really scared that no matter what I did, she was going to hate it, and be mad at me, and we’d never get past the fact that I had a wedding and asked her to be my maid of honor. I didn’t want one relationship to fall apart just because another one was throwing a big party for itself.

Read the rest at The Frisky.

About andrea grimes

Andrea is a journalist living in Austin, TX. She has a master's degree in anthropology and did her thesis work on gender and stand-up comedy. Seriously. Also, she has a bunch of cats. Three of them. Is three a bunch? Discuss.
This entry was posted in feminism, marriage, navelgazing, personal essays, relationships, wedding. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

