This Week’s Hitched Column: The Ring Issue

This week for The Frisky I wrote my Hitched wedding column about getting engaged without a ring. Except now I am engaged with a ring. An expensive one. An excerpt:

There was just something about wearing proof of our engagement that was important to me. My post-Jim Beam hangover was pretty real, but I wanted something that I could really keep with me as a reminder of that awesome night (and terrible, horrible next morning.) I wanted a ring the way I wanted a wedding — I needed something that said to the people I care about, to the people I want to have the love and support of, something that said, “Did you guys just hear that?”

So now this big diamond sits on my hand, and it kind of looks at me, and I am not totally sure it is not giving me the stink-eye. Does that sound terribly ungrateful? Maybe I’m an asshole, I think, because Lord have mercy, I am walking around with cash money on my hand! Me, the woman who stops by H&M or Forever 21 every year or so to buy new, cheap-ass earrings because I cannot be trusted with nice things.

Read the rest here.

About andrea grimes

Andrea is a journalist living in Austin, TX. She has a master's degree in anthropology and did her thesis work on gender and stand-up comedy. Seriously. Also, she has a bunch of cats. Three of them. Is three a bunch? Discuss.
This entry was posted in feminism, money, personal essays, wedding. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to This Week’s Hitched Column: The Ring Issue

  1. A says:

    My husband and I got matching rings. We both wore them when we decided we were engaged to be married. We both picked them out and had a friend design them. I figure if I was going to have this symbol that said “taken,” then he might as well share in the joy of being off-the-market🙂

    And let me say, my husband is really easy-going but I’d hardly consider him a feminist crusader!

Leave a Reply

