Hitched: The Wedding Dress Body Project

This week, “Hitched,” my Frisky column about getting married centers on wedding dress shopping and body shame. You should read it. And then eat some Doritos and feel good about it. To start:

One of the most exciting things about being a bride, besides finding your forever partner and being showered with expensive knife sets and y’all, Tupperware with lids that actually match, is repeatedly being told that your body is, and do take your pick, insufficiently toned, insufficiently thin, insufficiently void of cellulite, insufficiently hourglass-shaped … really, plainly, just basically insufficient in some ways that will absolutely, positively ruin your wedding day because oh my God, who in her right mind would have the gall to profess undying love in front of her closest friends and family with BINGO arms, can you imagine anything more horrifying?

Read the rest!

About andrea grimes

Andrea is a journalist living in Austin, TX. She has a master's degree in anthropology and did her thesis work on gender and stand-up comedy. Seriously. Also, she has a bunch of cats. Three of them. Is three a bunch? Discuss.
This entry was posted in fashion, feminism, media, personal essays, wedding. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Hitched: The Wedding Dress Body Project

  1. nonsequiteuse says:

    I will never forget when I went into a bridal shop to try on dresses and learned that “finer” shops only carry samples in one size. Not my size by a long shot, either. The shop keeper was apparently able to stop from barfing in disgust at my enormous, corpulent size 14 body long enough to tell me that most brides *were* a size 8, so it *usually* wasn’t a problem. I left quickly so she wouldn’t have to disinfect her eyes with bleach after seeing the horrible sight of me.

    I called Saks, where I had another appointment scheduled, and was told that they, too, had only size 8. When I asked what we’d do, the sales person assured me that I could just stand behind the dress in front of a mirror, and when I saw one I liked, we could special order it in my size. I asked her if people regularly spent $5,000+ on dresses they tried on by standing next to them in front of a mirror – the $5,000 price tag had already stopped me, but I wanted to play this out. She assured me that this was my only option, and repeated the party line that most brides are size 8s.

    I called the seamstress everyone recommended, who told me that she “didn’t pick up her scissors” for less than $5,000. Harumph. I somehow managed to look just fine on my wedding day in a reasonably-priced custom-made dress.😉

    I wish we could #occupy the wedding industrial/body shaming industry.

  2. Commentor says:

    I respect what you are doing, and I think it is great. But, I am afraid that sometimes the “accept your body” rhetoric goes in the direction of “accept your body, even if you are unhealthy”. You mean it as a joke, but the beginning of this post says, “And then eat some Doritos. And feel good about it.” Doritos are not healthy, whether one feels good about eating them or not. I am not condoning shaming anyone in regards to their size (or anything else). I suggest we try to talk about body shape, size and weight as it pertains to health. Again, I respect your efforts, but promoting health and being in a healthy weight range does not have to be “shaming”.

Leave a Reply

