If I found out my next-door neighbor was an abortionist …

Today on RH Reality Check, I’ve got a piece up about the creepy questions the anti-choice American Life League periodically poses to its Facebook friends. Such as: “If I found out my next door neighbor was an abortionist…” and “If I went to the county fair and found out Planned Parenthood had an information booth, I would ….” You know, prompts that basically say: tell us your secret vigilante savior fantasies, guys! Because that never turns out badly.

Excerpt:

Am I the only one who sees a link between the American Life League-goading Facebook followers into sharing their anti-choice savior fantasies and, well, firebombing a Planned Parenthood clinic? No, it’s not direct, but I do think it’s there if we look at the idea of vigilante justice and how people inclined toward that kind of behavior might be encouraged to make it happen in practice. Yes, many times American Life League commenters respond to these What Would You Do? posts by saying they’d do little more than pray, or show off their pro-life t-shirt.

But some responses are more forceful and intrusive. Even vaguely threatening. Commenters talk about waving a pregnant belly in people’s faces, or parading their kids by in some kind of bizarre attempt at using children as little human guilt trips. Others talk about taking information pamphlets and throwing them away. Knocking on doors repeatedly to try and change folks’ minds. Turning yard signs into billboards. One commenter wrote an especially chilling response to what he’d do with a neighbor abortion doctor: “Best I not say….”

Read the rest here.

About andrea grimes

Andrea is a journalist living in Austin, TX. She has a master's degree in anthropology and did her thesis work on gender and stand-up comedy. Seriously. Also, she has a bunch of cats. Three of them. Is three a bunch? Discuss.
This entry was posted in abortion, activism, crime, feminism, health care, legal issues, media, politics, religion, reproductive health. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to If I found out my next-door neighbor was an abortionist …

  1. Maia says:

    If I found out my next door neighbor provided abortions…

    I’d bake them a cake!🙂

  2. A. Nonymous says:

    I just recently found out my neighbor is an abortionist. (I ran across this web site by Googling “my neighbor is an abortionist”, by the way. Read into that whatever you like.)

    His name, address, and picture are on one of those “We don’t advocate you do anything crazy, and we wash our hands of what you might do, but this man kills babies” websites.

    The only thing I’ve done about it is to repair the house numbers on my mailbox, the curb, and my front door, so that some friggin’ wacko doesn’t mistake my house for my neighbor’s when he decides God has called him to do something crazy.

    I would probably have gone back and re-read “The Cider House Rules” by John Irving, but, coincidently, I did that about half a year ago so don’t feel the need.

    And that’s about all I’m going to do about it.

    Except maybe work it into a novel, if I ever get off my ass and write one.

Leave a Reply

