Introducing: Ask A Texan!

I started reading “Dear Abby” in elementary school–I’d practically pounce on my dad over my Lucky Charms as he came through the front door every morning with the Fort Worth Star-Telegram to get my hands on the “Life” section, where I could learn about all the vaguely bad shit that happens to people that’s fit to print in a family newspaper. The internet has made it even easier for me to get my fix–Since You Asked, Savage Love, Dear Prudence and a gang of considerate and not-so-considerate advice-givers stock a bookmarks tab that would blow your problem-having mind. I’ll be honest: I prefer to read the questions more than I do the answers. It’s like magical troubled anthropology playtime.

Which brings me to this: today is the day we at HayLadies! launch “Ask A Texan,” an advice column for people who have questions for Texans. Your question doesn’t have to be about Texas, but it does have to be directed at a Texan, specifically at askatexanadvice@gmail.com, otherwise how can a Texan respond to you? If you need bizarre Texas behavior explained, a recommendation for a vet in Houston, help making sense of your broken relationship, or directions to Marfa and it’s easier to email us than to Google directions to fucking Marfa, shoot us an email.

Remember, that’s: askatexanadvice@gmail.com. We’ll publish our first questions and responses next week!

About andrea grimes

Andrea is a journalist living in Austin, TX. She has a master's degree in anthropology and did her thesis work on gender and stand-up comedy. Seriously. Also, she has a bunch of cats. Three of them. Is three a bunch? Discuss.
This entry was posted in ask a texan. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

