Why Should Feminists Stay in the Lone Star State? To Mess With Texas.

I’ve got a piece up on RHRealityCheck today about why I think it’s important to stay in Texas if you’re a feminist, so the place doesn’t go to shit (ETA: so that Texas doesn’t go to shit. Not RHRealityCheck, which would be fine without me.)

“I know that I love Texas too much, and I love Texans too much, to pack my bags and leave this state to be stripped down into something unrecognizable by people whose hearts are filled with hate and ignorance and contempt for equality. Yes, our elected representatives have, along with those in many other parts of the country (Indiana!), spent recent years doing all they can to make life worse for women. But I wonder if that’s largely a reflection of a Texas that doesn’t know, or perhaps has forgotten, what feminism looks like and can do for it.”

Read the rest here.

About andrea grimes

Andrea is a journalist living in Austin, TX. She has a master's degree in anthropology and did her thesis work on gender and stand-up comedy. Seriously. Also, she has a bunch of cats. Three of them. Is three a bunch? Discuss.
This entry was posted in activism, feminism, personal essays, politics. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Why Should Feminists Stay in the Lone Star State? To Mess With Texas.

  1. Carrie says:

    Great piece! When asked, my reasons are: 1) This is where the war is, so this is where we fight. 2) There is so much possibility here in the borderlands for amazing coalition work! Read some Anzaldua, y’all! 3) This is my home, too, and they can’t have it without a fight. Texas has a long tradition of tough broads, I am one of them, and I am not going anywhere. The Texas I was raised in, the Texas I love, is one where we know that life, like tornadoes and hurricanes, can just flat level you, so we gotta take care of each other. This video, which has popped up in my Facebook friends feed several times, shows the definition of manners I want and some great everyday activism on the part of people who might never choose that word for their behavior. People in NYC said, shitty behavior, even when it’s right in front of me, is none of my business. People in Texas said, listen here, respect and kindness are not optional. HELL. YES. We have often been wrongheaded, even tragically mistaken in what we’ve stood for, but dammit, Texans stand up.

Leave a Reply

