Alternatives to Planned Parenthood in Dallas? I found no such thing.

I wrote a long, in-depth follow-up to my original post, “Texas Anti-Choice Lawmakers, Non-Profits, Unable or Unwilling To Provide Planned Parenthood Alternatives?” for Reproductive Health Reality Check, wherein I legitimately tried to find viable, accessible alternatives to Planned Parenthood because that is what anti-choice people want me to do.

Forget the fact that it’s preposterous for women to have to make decisions about their own bodies and health based on what a bunch of non-medical professionals who’ve never met them think. Even though that’s exactly what’s happening when religious and conservative lawmakers de-fund family planning across the country. Just go with me on this.

Before I met with Texas State Representative Dan Flynn last month during Texas’ pro-choice lobby day, I truly believed that even the most passionate anti-choice conservative couldn’t look me in the face and tell me they didn’t really care whether I got the reproductive health care I needed. Who would seriously tell me their religious beliefs are more important than making sure hundreds of thousands of women just like me—women with high-risk HPV–don’t develop cervical cancer?

But like I said, that was before I sat in front of Rep. Flynn, in his Austin office next to his model airplanes and elect-Dan-Flynn gum, and told him how I’d lost my job and my health insurance and needed regular, affordable pap smears to keep an eye on my pre-cancerous cervical dysplasia.

Read the rest at RHRC.

About andrea grimes

Andrea is a journalist living in Austin, TX. She has a master's degree in anthropology and did her thesis work on gender and stand-up comedy. Seriously. Also, she has a bunch of cats. Three of them. Is three a bunch? Discuss.
This entry was posted in abortion, activism, Dallas, feminism, health care, legal issues, news, personal essays, politics, reproductive health. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Alternatives to Planned Parenthood in Dallas? I found no such thing.

  1. harriet, of Fugitivus, once put something so succinctly & perfectly that it’s stuck with me ever since. if you want to know what a law is really intended to do, look at what it actually does. they may claim this fight is meant to prevent abortions and spread the money around (which is SO not a conservative principle normally), but what it really does is increase the difficulty of accessing health care by those who are the neediest. it forces women to beg, borrow & steal in order to get pap smears & breast exams, to consent to religious badgering to get birth control to prevent their own unwanted pregnancies. any laws/bills/whatever that result in cutting Title X/PP funding are nothing more than an attempt to control women and prevent them from making their own, educated choices. i know this because that’s exactly what they result in.

  2. joereform says:

    I repeat the same question I have yet to have directly answered: if Planned Parenthood’s continued funding is tied to not providing abortions, will it turn its back on Andrea and all of the other women it helps in other ways by refusing to get out of the abortion business?

  3. G.L. Piggy says:

    Joereform is right.

    PP doesn’t have to tie their abortion services in with women’s health services. abortion, by and large, is not a women’s health issue.

    Even then, there are plenty of alternatives to PP in the Dallas area and any other major metropolitan area. they’re called Walgreens or Wal-Mart. That’s where I buy my condoms. And then there’s also abstinence; it has a really, really low co-pay.

Leave a Reply

