Austinist’s “Ask Me About My Abortion” Post Is A Must-Read.

The brilliant and funny Spike Gillespie takes on Lila Rose and the GOP’s war on women with her “Ask Me About My Abortion” post on Austinist today. An excerpt:

I was married, insured, educated and 33 when I discovered I was pregnant (i.e. not one of those dirty, 12 year-old crack whores Rose seems both eager to condemn and “save”). My then husband was a physically violent, mentally ill, prescription drug addict. That I married him was entirely my own fault, a regret I will carry to my grave. I unwittingly but nonetheless endangered my own life and that of my son– who was five back then— when I married. Getting pregnant was also my fault, a stupid moment of birth control neglect. That pregnancy was catalyst, face slap, final warning. To stay with this man would ruin my life, my son’s life and, should I follow through with the pregnancy, the eventual life of the fetus.

Read the rest.

About andrea grimes

Andrea is a journalist living in Austin, TX. She has a master's degree in anthropology and did her thesis work on gender and stand-up comedy. Seriously. Also, she has a bunch of cats. Three of them. Is three a bunch? Discuss.
This entry was posted in abortion. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Austinist’s “Ask Me About My Abortion” Post Is A Must-Read.

  1. joereform says:

    Right. The “eventual” life of the fetus. Because we all know that it’s a trip down the birth canal which brings life to the little critter, right?

    The article indicates that she left her husband and got a restraining order before having the abortion. There is no indication that her son, whom she carried to term, lives in any real danger. In other words, her fear for her “potential child” just reads like more excuses to justify her “choice.”

    But that makes perfect sense in pro-choice world, I guess: “What a horrible life this ‘future kid’ will have with this man as a biological father. Let’s put it out of its potential misery now.”

    She did it for her convenience, not to spare her fetus the anguish of a “hell on earth.” She should at least be honest about it.

    • I posted a clarification to this man’s comment at the Austinist and feel that the clarification should post here as well. My son was in no way related to the man to whom I was married. My son is a bastard born of a relationship with a good man, a friend to this day. As I explained over at the Austinist, just as Jesus’s mom wasn’t married to his dad, such was the case in this instance. To further clarify, the violent man to whom I was married was a physical danger to both my son and me, which is how I was able to procure a protective order– something that can only be acquired when one is in provable, imminent danger, as we were. These documents are public record. As are the documents showing multiple violations of the permanent restraining order that was issued once the protective order expired.

      And Andrea? Thanks for the link.

      • joereform says:

        Like I mentioned over at your blog, thank you for clarifying.

        I think it bears mentioning that, at least in my case, I am not trying to minimize the sense of desperation that a woman must feel when she discovers that she is pregnant under “the wrong circumstances.” No reasoning person, whether pro-life or pro-choice, thinks that an unplanned pregnancy is “no big deal.”

        Likewise, I don’t need to see public records of your case. I have no reason at all to doubt the accuracy of what you are saying. I don’t doubt that your fear of your ex and his family was a genuine one.

        But actions are not justified merely because one is desperate or afraid or otherwise “hemmed in” by circumstances. You and I (hopefully) would agree that a woman poisoning a three-week-old to spare it from a potentially abusive father would be a bad thing.

        You undoubtedly have a whole list of reasons how that is “different” from abortion. None of those reasons changes the fact that the fetus growing inside you was human, living, and developing, and was in your womb as a result of a decision you made (i.e. the sex, not the pregnancy). He/she was not some parasitic invader who decided to take up residence inside your uterus. And you paid someone to kill him/her inside your womb and then remove him/her. That is the reality of your choice; and no amount of fear, no matter how legitimate it may be, makes something like that okay.

        As I explained over at the Austinist, just as Jesus’s mom wasn’t married to his dad, such was the case in this instance.

        Okay, I don’t dispute the strife with your ex, but I really have a hard time believing that that your son is the product of a divine, sexless conception.🙂

        Or are you referring to Joseph? Because they were married when Jesus was born.

    • Cara says:

      Spoken like a true MRA. Like a “restraining order” means she and her son would be safe. Get real.

      “Convenience”. Pfffft.

      • joereform says:

        Do you take the time to read what people actually write, Cara?

        My comment about the restraining order was tangential at most to my point. The blogger already has a kid she carried to term. She gave no indication that her son’s life was (or is) in serious danger. I see nothing in her post that indicates this boy is living in a “hell on earth” now. Did the Mormon in-laws finance the boy being torn from his mother like she feared would happen for the object of her alleged mercy killing?

        Therefore, where exactly is the “hell on earth” from which she spared her unborn child by killing him/her?

      • Cara says:

        Do YOU take time to read? She told YOU, specifically, that the cretin had no legal claim to the child because the boy wasn’t “his”. That’s one time the ludicrous principle of Ownership By Sperm Decanting can work in a woman’s favor.

        Never mind. Keep spouting. Keep earning that paycheck with your hard “work”. Just do us one favor and keep your hands on the keyboard while you’re thinking about all these bad, bad, women you’d like to punish.

      • joereform says:

        Do YOU take time to read? She told YOU, specifically, that the cretin had no legal claim to the child because the boy wasn’t “his”.

        I certainly do take the time to read. However, I don’t read minds. The blogger gave that information in response to my inquiry, not before I made it. There was nothing in the original post that indicated that her living child was not the product of the marriage, too.

        I suppose chronological context is irrelevant, though…🙂

    • why can’t you just admit that you hate the idea of a woman being allowed to make all the decisions about what is done to her body without someone else’s input? it would make this whole argument a lot easier to swallow.

      • joereform says:

        Because, contrary, to the big lies of pro-choice spin, most right-to-life advocates are not out to “control women.”

        If there were a way to safely remove the developing human life from the selfish incubator that wants to kill him/her for convenience, the pro-life movement would dwindle away to insignificance.

        But you, like most of the other pro-choice advocates I come across, want to completely take the focus off of the fetus. In order to try keep your worldview consistent (i.e. keeping your mind solely focused on “your body, your decisions”), you have to paint those who oppose elective abortion as people who go around thinking, “your body, my decisions.”

        It isn’t a crusade against women, no matter how many times you repeat that mantra. It is a movement in favor of protecting defenseless, developing human organisms.

        Now why can’t you admit that elective abortion is the voluntary killing of a living, developing human organism? It would make your argument a lot easier to swallow if you acknowledge the reality of what the mother does to a human being of her own procreation.

      • Cara says:

        QBert, don’t you just love the rhetoric? So predictable. Women who don’t Sacrifice All, Including Their Lives, to Validate Everyone Else (and I Mean EVERYONE Else) But Themselves, Are Selfish.

        Oh, woe.

  2. Sarah says:

    Now why can’t you admit that elective abortion is the voluntary killing of a living, developing human organism?

    Because it’s not. End of story.

    A fetus is not a human being with Constitutional rights. A woman is. A fetus does not have a “right” to live inside a woman without her permission. A developing fetus is, to put it bluntly, a parasite. It feeds off the mother, putting her entire life at risk. It is the mother’s CHOICE and HER CHOICE ONLY to go through this danger to bring life into the world. A fetus is NOT a separate entity – it belong to the body of the mother, because it cannot grow inside the womb without her sustenance. It cannot live independently until a certain point in gestation, and we have laws in place to support that.

    Sperm is a living thing too – should we give rights to sperm? Cows/chickens/pigs are living creatures, but we slaughter them for food – even though we can survive on a vegetarian diet. Ants are living creatures, but we run them over with our cars without a thought. Spiders are living creatures, but we scream and squash them when they show up on our walls. Dogs and cats are human, but we abandon them in shelters and leave them on the streets. We treat human beings like crap, and most pro-lifers don’t seem to care about the children who are already living and suffering. You know, those children who weren’t aborted and are now destined to be abused and abandoned because the mother really didn’t want ’em in the first place.

    I’m on my period, destroying life right now. I do this every month, by the way. Are you going to punish women for destroying this living and developing organism? I am shedding an egg which is part of the life that potentially could have been inside my body.

    • joereform says:

      Because it’s not. End of story.

      I love how you put this before three long paragraphs. “End of story,” huh?🙂

      This was your answer to my question, “Now why can’t you admit that elective abortion is the voluntary killing of a living, developing human organism?”

      Which part of this statement is incorrect?

      Abortion is the voluntary killing of the fetus. If you are in doubt of this, you need to review the methods employed in abortion.

      So what factual error did I make about the fetus? Is he/she non-living? Is he/she not developing? Is he/she not genetically human?

      And, unlike a sperm cell or an ovum (or, for that matter, the blood cells that get expelled during your menstrual cycle, or a tumor or a kidney), a fetus is an organism. Check any biology textbook if you need to know the definition of an organism and why these other things do not meet those qualifications.

      In short, every part of my original statement is 100% accurate. A fetus meets every qualification for being a member of Homo sapiens that you do. End of story.

      Or is it?🙂

      A fetus is not a human being with Constitutional rights.

      Well, obviously. I didn’t say anything about Constitutional rights. But does the Constitution define reality? If so, black slaves were only 3/5 “people.” Before the 19th amendment, you would not have had the Constitutional right to vote. Would you say that is because females were “less human”?

      I am pleased to learn, however, that if and when there is Constitutional protection of the fetus, you will not challenge it, because, well, it’ll be Constitutional.

      Sperm is a living thing too – should we give rights to sperm?

      Not an organism.

      Cows/chickens/pigs are living creatures, but we slaughter them for food

      Not human.

      Dogs and cats are human

      What?🙂

      We treat human beings like crap, and most pro-lifers don’t seem to care about the children who are already living and suffering.

      Where do you get your statistics for “most”?

      You know, those children who weren’t aborted and are now destined to be abused and abandoned because the mother really didn’t want ‘em in the first place.

      “Destined”? Hyperbole, much? My three kids were adopted through the foster care system, and are clear examples that unfortunate birth does not equal “destiny.”

      I’m on my period, destroying life right now.

      I washed my hands a few minutes ago, destroying life. Last time I had sex, I sent millions of sperm to their demise. It is not the same as abortion, and the intellectually honest person is forced to admit that.

      Can we expect intellectual honesty from you?

Leave a Reply

