THINGS WHAT YOU SHOULD DO IN DALLAS FOR THE SUPERBOWL

Elm Street in Deep Ellum during the icepocalypse.

I choose to live in Dallas. Not like in the, “I’m from here, I could move to Fort Worth if I wanted to” kind of way, but in the I-have-lived-on-the-East-Coast-and-abroad-and-even-in-Austin-and-I-still-choose-Dallas kind of way.

I love this city. Part of that love is manifest in the degree to which I passionately make fun of it. Because I want it to be great–greater than it is–I’m happy to take it to task when it disappoints. That said, I’d be remiss in not advising anyone visiting Dallas this weekend, for the Super Bowl or otherwise, of the truly fantastic shit this city has to offer.

So if you don’t want the old-fogey recommendations of the Dallas Morning News and the privileged fashionista POV from D, I guess just read my list of:

Things What You Will Want To Check Out In Dallas If You Are Young And Vaguely Hip And Probably Not Real Rich.

Most of all, here’s what you don’t do: don’t go to anything that qualifies as an “ultra lounge.” Don’t eat Mexican food if it looks like the place might pass health inspection. Don’t visit any urban enclave that ends in “Park,” as in: Highland, University. Don’t spend more than an hour in Uptown. Don’t go to the mall, any mall, even though one of them has an H&M, and I am not telling you which one.

And if someone tells you to check out the NFL Experience, punch them in the face.

(Dallasites! Post your own recs in the comments, please.)

About andrea grimes

Andrea is a journalist living in Austin, TX. She has a master's degree in anthropology and did her thesis work on gender and stand-up comedy. Seriously. Also, she has a bunch of cats. Three of them. Is three a bunch? Discuss.
This entry was posted in Dallas, sports. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to THINGS WHAT YOU SHOULD DO IN DALLAS FOR THE SUPERBOWL

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention THINGS WHAT YOU SHOULD DO IN DALLAS FOR THE SUPERBOWL | HAY LADIES! -- Topsy.com

  2. Sunny says:

    Twisted Root.
    Cafe Brasil.
    Fireside Pies.

    I like food.

  3. Honchie McKillicutty says:

    The Libertine

    Vickery Park

    Elbow Room

  4. Jordan says:

    Hey, don’t forget the Grapevine!

  5. bridge says:

    I just found you via Kate Harding on Twitter…and I’ve lived in Dallas for many years! So happy! And ashamed to tell you I haven’t been to half these places.

  6. Lauren Kelley says:

    Aw, Hattie’s love! If you ate brunch there 6-7 years ago, I probably walked you to your seat. My mom was the original chef there (for 2-3 years? something like that) and developed the menu (much of which is still in use), so it is her you can thank for everything being wrapped in bacon.

    I have not lived in Dallas in many moons, but I can’t imagine letting any non-Texan visit without sending them somewhere for a big Southern diner breakfast. I always do Barbec’s, which is kinda gross, yeah… but the BEER BISCUITS OMG.

  7. I’d add AllGood for breakfast to the list: breakfast tacos, migas, the Hat Trick.

  8. @JakeM says:

    We used to eat at a Mexican place called Herrera’s, I think. But a search of Google Maps tells me that might be wrong, or they’ve moved. Spiral Diner is always a great stop for the vegans/vegetarians. Also Ojeda’s is a good Mexican place. I am suddenly blanking on any bars… I guess I just miss the food there.

Leave a Reply

