Just throwing this out there.

So, I’m reading this CultureMap Austin roundup of the most “motivational” quotes from the Texas Conference for Women in Austin this week. Some of the choice selections:

“Women have a graduate degree in taking things personally.”

“Men don’t know how to see the leadership potential in women, so deliver it — don’t make them guess.”

“[For a happier home] get more sleep, make your bed and establish a kissing schedule.”

Weirdly, I don’t find these “motivational” so much as “patently offensive, patronizing and stupid.” My vagina doesn’t make me take things personally, it’s not on me to fix men who can’t see the value in female humans, and the last thing I want is to badger my partner into kissing me at pre-determined intervals. But the official “host” of the conference was Anita Perry, so there you go.

But instead of complaining–or perhaps, in addition to complaining–I thought it might be cool to do something that might result in some actually motivational patriarchy-smashing. What if there could be a Texas conference for feminists/allies/progressives that actually gave people the tools and information they need to make changes they’d like to see in terms of gender equality, reproductive justice, media accountability, etc. and so on?

I’ve been tossing an idea like this around in my mind for a couple of years now, and I think it’s high time it came to fruition. If anyone wants to help–which means anything from brainstorming to actual pavement-pounding–email me at (andrea dot grimes at the gmails) or leave a comment with your contact information, and let’s see if we can’t make something happen.

About andrea grimes

Andrea is a journalist living in Austin, TX. She has a master's degree in anthropology and did her thesis work on gender and stand-up comedy. Seriously. Also, she has a bunch of cats. Three of them. Is three a bunch? Discuss.
This entry was posted in activism. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Just throwing this out there.

  1. I’m in – have some good resources & connections I can tap. I am tapped out until after the election.

  2. I would be interested in helping, depending on timing. Right now, the baby is all i can handle, but things may be different in a few months as he gets older. Or, i might be deluding myself.

  3. Aviva P says:

    Hey Andrea – I’ve been following your blog for a while and loving it! I’d love to be involved and help out in some way, if possible.

  4. meadowgirl says:

    i’m in. however i can help. volunteer, cheerlead, what have you.

  5. Oh man, I would loveLOVE to help and attend that. I don’t know what I can do from over here in Denmark, but if anything let me know! Hopefully it can coincide with a trip home :)

  6. shelly says:

    The UT feminists had a feminist in action conference a couple times, went to one and it was pretty cool. You could probably team up with them. I think their club is called Feminist Action or something.

  7. I am doing a music business version Oct 24-26, 2013. Would love your input!! No kissing schedule. More info coming to http://www.meowonline.org

Leave a Reply

